Wings Magazine

Air Canada Pilots elect new president

Dec. 5, 2014, Toronto - Air Canada pilots have elected two officers to lead their 3,000-member Association over the next two years.

December 5, 2014  By Carey Fredericks

Captain Ian Smith will become President of the Air Canada Pilots Association (ACPA) effective January 2015. As President, he will represent Air Canada pilots to media, governments and public agencies, other pilot associations and employee groups, as well as a range of external stakeholders.

“It is a great honour and privilege to be selected as President for the Air Canada Pilots Association for the 2015-2016 term,” Captain Smith said. “I look forward to maintaining a meaningful, constructive and open dialogue with all interested parties in the Canadian and international aviation communities. I also look forward to representing the Air Canada pilots and their interests with the Government of Canada and its agencies, as well as maintaining the good relationship that we presently enjoy with our employer, Air Canada.”

Captain Smith is currently a Captain on the Boeing 767 based in Toronto and has served as a Vice-Chair on the Toronto Local Executive Council since 2011.

Captain Chris Cox was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer, serving as the chief financial officer of the Association, responsible for ACPA’s budget, assets and financial affairs.


Captain Cox has been involved with ACPA for more than a decade, formerly serving as Vice-Chair of the Toronto Local Executive Council and on the governing Master Executive Council, as well as Editor of the Association’s internal publication, the ACPA Journal.

The terms of office for the President and Secretary-Treasurer run until December 2016.


Stories continue below