Wings Magazine

Final Webster competitors confirmed

July 18, 2011, St. Frederic, Que. - On behalf of the entire Webster Team, we are pleased to announce and congratulate the 2011 finalists who will compete at Grondair in St Frédéric, Que. this coming August for the title of Top Amateur Pilot in Canada.

July 18, 2011  By Carey Fredericks

British Columbia:           Michael Wieclawek        Pacific Flying Club
Alberta:                        Kevin Aalders            Centennial Flight Centre
Saskatchewan:              Lindsay Bowers        Regina Flying Club
Manitoba:                     Cody Neil            Harv’s Air
Western Ontario:           Matthew Duplan        Waterloo-Wellington Flying Club
Central Ontario:            Oliver Darroch        Spectrum Airways          
Eastern Ontario:            Joshua Shea            Ottawa Flying Club      
Quebec:                       Mathieu Beaumier        Cargair
Atlantic:                       Justin Mailman        Moncton Flight Centre   

The Webster Team is proud to announce that at the completion of the 2011 Webster Memorial Trophy regional phase of the completion 105 applications were received and processed… This is an achievement that must be shared with all the participating Flight Training Units who encouraged their customers to enter.  It must also be shared with our sponsor AIR CANADA and all of our supporters who have offered financial assistance, prizes to the Early Bird and Instructor draws as well as those given to the finalists at the Awards Banquet, media coverage and posters.  This achievement could not have been accomplished without their overwhelming support and involvement.

Next year is the 80th anniversary of the existence of the Webster Trophy which resides permanently at the Canada Aviation & Space Museum in Ottawa.  Rockcliffe Flying Club has been chosen as the host school for the event and preparations for a major celebration are already in the works.

Webster 2011 Early Bird Draw Winners


For the past few years competitors have been encouraged to enter early. It happens every year that many if not most wait until the deadline approaches in order to compete and this results in a number of required flight tests being missed due to scheduling, weather or aircraft maintenance.
For their efforts in applying and subsequently getting their flight tests in on time, a number of prizes have been donated from generous Webster supporting organizations.

This year’s winners are:

Zachary Belanger –     A HME-110 headset donated by Sennheiser
Ryan Costello –          1 Brightline Aviator Flight Bag donated by Aviation World
Christopher Kincaid – A one year subscription to WINGS magazine
Nigel MacLennan –    1 set of aviator sunglasses donated by COPA
Howard Leung –         1 pilot licence holder donated by COPA
Martin Nadeau –         1 Royal Mint commemorative coin donated by WINGS magazine

Webster 2011 Flight Instructor Draw

It was recognized this year that many excellent and qualified candidates enter the competition, yet it took dedicated flight instructors to teach this individuals and prepare them for this competition, yet they receive no recognition for their achievements.  In order to honour these individuals a Flight Instructor Draw was established with prizes donated by supporting organizations.

The winners of the 2011 Flight Instructor Draw are:

Tahara MacDonald – Moncton Flight College – 1 HME – 110 headset donated by Sennheiser
Jeff Davy – Ottawa Flying Club – 1 Brightline Aviator Flight Bag donated by Aviation World
Kamna Subedi – Seneca College – A one year subscription to WINGS magazine
Steve Hause – Sault College – 1 set of aviator sunglasses donated by COPA
Fred Neufeld – St Thomas Flight Centre – 1 Pilot Licence Holder donated by COPA
Andrew Simpson – Ottawa Flying Club – 1 Royal Mint Commemorative Coin Set

Winner of 2011 Webster Sennheiser Scholarship is Moncton Flight College, Moncton, NB
The Webster/Sennheiser scholarship was donated by Sennheiser Canada beginning last year and will be awarded on an annual basis.  It goes to the Flight Training Unit which encourages and produces the greatest number of competitors into the current competition. The provisions of the scholarship valued at $3,000 must be used for the advanced training of between one to four of the current competitors from their school. How it is awarded it up to the school.  Last year it was won by Waterloo-Wellington Flying Club.  This year, congratulations to Moncton Flight College. The presentation of the scholarship will be formally made at the ATAC Convention held in November in Montreal.


Stories continue below