Wings Magazine

Finalists announced for Webster Trophy competition

The Webster Team would like to announce that the names listed below have become the 2015 Webster finalists, who will meet up at the Pacific Flying Club in Delta, B.C. during the week of August 18 – 22 to challenge each other for the title of Top Amateur Pilot in Canada.

June 18, 2015  By Webster Trophy Competition

Each year there is often a strong regional competition where applicants are very close to each other in points and the winners sometimes edge out their opponents by a mark or two. This year was no exception except this year there were some outstanding flight tests submitted with a few almost achieving perfect scores. The quality of entries received is noteworthy and a strong indicator of the standard of training being given by those Flight Training Units who participated.

It is unfortunate that only nine can be selected from all who entered but from the tests submitted those who did not win should still be pleased with the high standard of training they received.

Finalist                         Region                    Flight Training Unit

Simon Horlick              British Columbia             Pacific Flying Club
Matthew White             Alberta                         Sky Wings Aviation
Duncan Starling           Saskatchewan               Millenium Aviation
Jamie Fehr                  Manitoba                      Mountain City Aviation
Mark Ehrenfellner        Western Ontario            Confederation College
Jack Bradshaw            Central Ontario             Brampton Flight College
Gabriel Kim                 Eastern Ontario             Seneca College
Alexandre Laplante       Quebec                       Lachute Aviation
Zhaoyang (David) Shi   Atlantic Provinces        Moncton Flight College

The regions are based as much as possible on Provincial boundaries however influenced heavily on the amount of flying activity in each, thus Ontario is broken up into three sections and the Atlantic Provinces are grouped together.


Each year Sennheiser Canada gives a $3,000 grant to the Flight Training Unit which encourages the largest number of pilots to enter the competition. This year the grant was once again won by the Moncton Flight College, Moncton, NB. The cheque is presented.

The Canadian Business Aviation Association has recently become a supporter of the Webster programme and is currently offering a grant of $1,500 to the Flight Training Unit of the regional winner where CBAA is holding their convention. This year it is in the Province of Quebec and the first CBAA grant will be going to Lachute Aviation.

Congratulations to both Moncton Flight College and Lachute Aviation.

2014 Webster Winner Now Hired By Jazz
We are extremely proud to announce that the 2104 Webster winner and a graduate of Seneca College, Sebastien Leduc has been hired by Jazz as a First Officer and entered training on June 15th.

We have also become one other 2014 finalist is currently going through an interview and simulator evaluation as well, however final results did not become available at the time of publishing.

Over the past few years a large number of recent Webster finalists have become successfully employed in the aviation industry, some being hired by Air Canada and other airlines, others flying in the business field and others moving up the ladder as very successful flight instructors. The Webster Team is very proud of the possible influence the programme has had on this pilot group. They not only become known to the industry from the competition itself but they had the opportunity to meet excellent contacts within the aviation community, often receiving additional mentoring and guidance. Our sponsor Air Canada over the years has hired a number of Webster finalists. All finalists are currently guaranteed a job interview once they are qualified. It does not guarantee a job but it certainly offers a tremendous advantage. All Webster finalists are listed on the website at on the past winners page. Those hired by Air Canada are in bold type. One of the very early winners, Gordon R. McGregor went on to become President of Trans Canada Airlines which became Air Canada.


Stories continue below