Wings Magazine

Toronto Pearson announces new board chair

Oct. 16, 2012, Toronto - The Board of Directors of the Greater Toronto Airports Authority (GTAA) has announced the appointment of Vijay Jeet Kanwar as Chair of the Board of Directors effective January 1, 2013.

October 16, 2012  By Carey Fredericks

Kanwar has been a member of the Board of Directors since May 2006.  He was appointed by the Province of Ontario and has served on the Planning and Development Committee, Audit Committee and the Human Resources and Compensation Committee. He was also involved with the Board search committee for the GTAA's new CEO.

Kanwar is President and Chief Financial Officer of KMH Cardiology and Diagnostic Centres. KMH is a leading provider of cutting edge medical diagnostic services with locations in both Canada and the United States.  In addition, Mr. Kanwar has also been involved in commercial real estate development and specialized computer software development.

He brings to the role a wealth of international business experience and acumen, coupled with an impressive suite of professional and leadership credentials.  In addition to his extensive business experience, Mr. Kanwar has a strong commitment to community development and he has actively supported the Credit Valley Hospital.  He serves on the Board of Directors of the Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment Foundation, Canada's National Ballet School, the Royal Ontario Museum, Sunnybrook Foundation and Natural Sciences and Engineering Research of Canada.

Kanwar holds a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering (BE), a Masters in Business Administration (MBA), a Masters in Law (LLM) and Institute Certified Director Designation (ICD.D).


Working together with management, employees and the Board, Mr. Kanwar is focused on creating a sustainable airport authority that maintains the highest standards of corporate practice and manages growth in a fiscally responsible manner.

Marilynne Day-Linton's term as Chair of the Board will expire on December 31 of this year.  She has served as Chair since January 2009, and will remain on the Board untilMay 2013.

The GTAA's 15 member Board is drawn from persons nominated by the four regional municipalities, the City of Toronto, the province and the federal government. The Boards of Trade/Chamber of Commerce in the GTA can also nominate to the Board, as can the Law Society, Chartered Accountants and the Association of Professional Engineers.


Stories continue below