Wings Magazine

WAA Announces New Chair and Vice Chair of the Board of Directors

Jan. 3, 2013, Winnipeg - Winnipeg Airports Authority Inc. has announced the election of Garth Smorang, Q.C. as Chair and Mr. Tom Payne Jr. as Vice Chair of the Board of Directors.

January 3, 2013  By Carey Fredericks

Previously Vice Chair, Smorang succeeds Tom Bryk as Chair and whose term concluded December 31, 2012.

“I am honoured to be provided the opportunity to serve our community as Chair of the Board. As a critical asset for the region we will continue to lead transportation innovation and be an economic enabler of growth,” said Smorang. “I look forward to continuing the tradition of excellence set by outgoing Chair Mr. Tom Bryk.”

Smorang, Q.C. is a Partner at the law firm of Myers Weinberg LLP with primary areas of practice being labour and employment, administrative and human rights. Payne Jr. is the President and CEO of Payne Transportation LP, located in the Rural Municipality of Rosser and held the role of Director on WAA’s board prior to accepting the nomination of Vice Chair.

Winnipeg Airports Authority’s Board of Directors is comprised of up to 15 members; 11 of which are nominated by local public and private sector agencies. Their role is to govern with integrity the management of the Winnipeg Airports Authority and its affiliated subsidiaries in the best interest of the community.


Winnipeg Airports Authority is a non-share capital corporation responsible for the management and operation of Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and affiliate businesses. WAA receives no operating funding from any level of Government.

Winnipeg Airports Authority serves our region by providing value to our customers and community. A source of pride for our community, we strive to be a leader in its growth and development.


Stories continue below