Wings Magazine

Walsh takes home prestigious DCAM Safety award

Nov. 26, 2013, Montreal - The 2013 DCAM Flight Instructor Safety Award was presented by co-founder Jane Abramson to Chris Walsh of the Moncton Flight College at the Air Transport Association of Canada's (ATAC) opening luncheon November 18 at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel in Montreal.

November 26, 2013  By Carey Fredericks

Walsh has made a significant contribution to the development and management of Moncton Flight College's approved training organization and the subsequent launch of the multi-crew licence. He has consistently demonstrated high levels of professionalism and commitment and has an acute understanding of the complexities of operating a flight training unit in a safe and productive environment.

Heather Philpott, assistant CFI at Gander Flight Training, was a very deserving nominee of the instructor refresher course, sponsored by Seneca College. Deanna Wiebe, assistant professor of aviation at Mount Royal University in Calgary, was given special recognition as the recipient of the Safety Management System's (SMS) workshop, sponsored by ATAC. These workshops were facilitated by Mike Doiron.

Moncton Flight College's Chris Walsh (left) hoists the DCAM Flight Instructor Safety Award as Wings' associate publisher Weng Ng looks on. Photo by Matt Dixon.


This year, the DCAM introduced a "Legacy Award." The award is only provided when a deserving candidate has made it to the final selection process and will necessarily be given out each year.


Orville Hewitt, chief flight instructor at Cooking Lake Aviation Academy in Cooking Lake, Alta., was selected to receive this award. Hewitt has created a significant training and instruction history. He received a DCAM plaque, which was presented by co-founded Jane Abramson at the opening luncheon. He also received an engraved aviator's watch from Hamilton Watches.

Acknowledgement was given to DCAM's sponsors: Air Canada, ATAC, Canadian Association of Aviation Colleges, Canadian Forces Snowbirds, Essential Turbines, Flight Safety Canada, Hamilton Watches, Helicopters Magazine, Seneca College, Sennheiser Canada, and Wings Magazine. Thanks also went out to supporters COPA, HAC, AQTA, and the Canadian Aviation & Space Museum for their custodianship of the trophy.


Stories continue below