Wings Magazine

Webster Trophy finalists ready to soar

June 29, 2012, Kanata, Ont. - On Saturday morning June 16th the nine regional finalists for the 2012 national finals were announced.  Each finalist was notified individually followed by a general statement sent out to all the remaining competitors.

June 29, 2012  By Carey Fredericks

Once again this year there were an excellent number of entrants totalling 96 by the deadline.  Last year’s record of 103 was not broken however the Webster Team is very pleased with the results.

All nine finalists will be gathering in Ottawa courtesy of Air Canada, arriving Monday August 13th, competing and enjoying a number of special planned events during Webster Week culminating with the Awards Banquet being held at the Canada Aviation & Space Museum on Saturday evening August 18th.  All the finalists will be honoured by a large representation of Webster supporters from all sectors of the Canadian and American aviation community.  One finalist will receive the well-earned title of Canada’s Top Amateur Pilot. 

This is the 80th anniversary of the existence of the Webster Trophy which resides permanently as a treasured part of Canadian aviation history in the Canada Aviation & Space Museum. The entire Webster Team therefore would like to express its gratitude to all those who competed in this very special year and extend its congratulations to the 2012 Webster finalists and their respective flight schools below.

British Columbia:      Andrew Michael Burns                            Coastal Pacific Aviation


Alberta:                      Mathieu Jean William Caouette               Skywings Aviation Academy

Saskatchewan:           Shane Daniel Lanouette                            Regina Flying Club

Manitoba:                   Peter McKenzie Heron                             Harv's Air Service

Western Ontario:        Andrew Curtis Woods                              Confederation College

Central Ontario:          Damian Atanasov Dochev                       Seneca College

Eastern Ontario:          Andrea Lane Marrocco                            Ottawa Flying Club

Quebec:                       Louis Rousseau                                        Cargair Ltée (St. Hubert)

Atlantic:                       Robert Joseph Forrest                              Greenwood Flight Centre

Webster Early Bird And Flight Instructor Draw Winners

There are two annual draws that take place at the conclusion of the regional phase of the competition with prizes donated through the generosity of Webster supporters.  The Early Bird Draw encourages competitors to apply before May 1st and reduces the workload on the national administrator later on when the deadlines approach.  The second draw is to honour the competitors’ flight instructor or person who encouraged the competitors to enter.  The finalists receive excellent prizes and it seems fitting that those who encourage their students or customers to compete should also receive a tangible thank you from us as well.

2012 Early Bird Draw

One HME-110 Headset donated by Sennheiser Canada   – Yurey Wu

One $125 gift card donated by Aviation World (Toronto) – Daniel Tse

One finely-crafted model of the Snowbird's Tutor donated by WINGS Magazine – Ryan Dawson

One year subscription to WINGS Magazine – Scott Holmes

One Jacket donated by COPA – Stephen Gesner

One golf shirt donated by COPA – Madeline Koby

2012 Flight Instructor Draw

One HME-110 Headset donated by Sennheiser Canada: Dave MacGlashing – Moncton Flight College

One $125 gift card donated by Aviation World (Toronto): Frank Brzobohaty – Ottawa Aviation Services

One finely-crafted model of the Snowbird's Tutor donated by WINGS Magazine: Tammy Adams – Waterloo-Wellington Flying Club

One year subscription to WINGS Magazine: Ali Sadeghi – Brampton Flight Centre

One Jacket donated by COPA: Dennis Benoit – Chapman Aviation

One golf shirt donated by COPA: Xavier Locoq – Cargair Ltée

Sennheiser/Webster Annual Scholarship

Sennheiser Canada each year annually presents a scholarship grant of $3,000 to the flight school which encouraged the greatest number of pilots to enter the competition.

Many flight schools are enthusiastically supporting the programme by paying for their entrants’ administration fee and/or offering financial incentives to company flight instructors who encourage their licenced students to enter. 

Sennheiser is pleased to announce that the 2012 winner of the scholarship is Moncton Flight College.  The scholarship will be presented formally at the upcoming ATAC Convention being held in Vancouver this November.  The flight school must apply it toward the training of one to four of their 2012 competitors.


Stories continue below