Wings Magazine

News
Air Canada confirms flight diversion

April 24, 2009, Montreal - Air Canada confirms its flight AC34 en route to Vancouver from Sydney, made an unscheduled landing at Honolulu.


April 24, 2009
By Carey Fredericks

April 24, 2009, Montreal – Air Canada confirms its flight AC34 en route to Vancouver from Sydney, made an unscheduled landing at Honolulu after encountering turbulence approximately one hour north east of Honolulu. The aircraft landed without incident at approximately 01:10 HT (07:10 EDT) and following inspection by Air Canada maintenance personnel re-departed approximately two hours later for Vancouver at 03:16 HT (09:16 EDT). It is scheduled to arrive in Vancouver at 11:44 PDT (14:44 EDT).

Upon landing in Honolulu, the flight was met by Air Canada staff, as well as medical and emergency services to provide assistance if necessary. Nine passengers and two flight attendants requiring medical attention for minor injuries were treated on site and released to continue their journey. Two passengers and two flight attendants remained in Honolulu for further assessment for minor injuries. The two passengers have subsequently been released by medical personnel and will be continuing their journey to Vancouver later today.

The seat belt sign was on at the time the turbulence occurred. The passenger list indicates the Boeing 777-200LR was carrying 256 passengers and 17 crew members. Air Canada teams will meet and assist passengers upon arrival in Vancouver to provide any assistance that may be required.

Advertisment